Holy Ascension Novo-Nyametsky Monastery
The monastery, located in the center of the village of Kitskany, is an outstanding monument of Orthodox Church architecture. The monastery ensemble consists of four churches: Holy Ascension Cathedral (summer), Assumption Church (winter), St. Nicholas (seminary) Church and Church of the Exaltation of the Cross (refectory). The monastery has hotels for pilgrims, a church museum, a printing house and an icon-painting workshop, as well as a library with preserved documents, miniatures and old books of the 15th–19th centuries. The gem of the monastery is a five-tiered bell tower 69 meters high with a panoramic view of the picturesque surroundings. Its largest bell weighs 8.5 tons.
The history of the monastery is closely connected with the Neamt Monastery, which was one of the largest medieval centers of Moldavian culture and education. After the unification of the Moldavian Principality with Wallachia and formation of Romania, the authorities of the latter began a policy of secularization of Church lands and changes in monastic statutes, as well as banned worship in Church Slavonic. Escaping from persecution, the monks of the monastery moved to the Russian Empire and in 1864 received the highest permission for the construction of the Novo-Nyametsky Monastery. The construction of the monastery complex was carried out for almost 50 years.
The Soviet period was difficult for the monastery. Its priors were persecuted, some were repressed. In 1962, the monastery was permanently closed, and the bell tower, which served as an observation post during the war, was turned into Museum of Military Glory of the Jassy-Kishinev Operation. The monastery resumed its activity only in 1990.
Through the efforts of father superior Dorimedont (Cecan), churches, the bell tower and cells of the monastery were renovated, a religious school was opened, a chapel was founded in honor of the miraculous icon of the Mother of God from Novo-Neamţ Monastery designed to bless the water. The restored library building houses the museum of the monastery’s history.